Whose Deadline is it, Anyway? #NaBloPoMo Day 13

DAY 13// Do you work well under pressure when it’s crunch time?

So… I’m a bit of a procrastinator.

As I write this I’m staring at a pile of unfinished work, an unpacked house with an impending move, midterms around the corner and two writing challenges!

**pours fifth cup of coffee**

While it’s no secret that INFJ’s are prone to bouts of scatterbrain and will put off change and conflict for as long as humanly possible, I can’t quite blame this tendency on a character trait. Whether a date or a due date, the one thing you can count on is me sliding into home covered in dust at minute :59. I decided to dig a bit deeper to find out why, and I didn’t have to look far, as I follow Julie Morgenstern on twitter!

According to Julie there are four main reasons you’re not getting things done: the task is too big, you have anxiety over the task or what comes next, or you work better under pressure.

For me I find it is a combination of two; I tend to look at things big-picture, so big projects seem overwhelmingly large instead of just a series of steps. Also, I’m a bit of a perfectionist and waiting until the last minute takes the pressure off the finished product-after all if it isn’t perfect I can always blame my lack of time instead of my actual performance!

So if you find yourself stuck like I did, here’s three small steps I’m taking that you can, too:

Finish ONE thing- Sometimes keeping all the tabs open on your tasks is like trying to stop the tide with a teacup-so you give up and turn to Pinterest instead! Put away your phone, close all the tabs except one, and give yourself a time limit to finish-it doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be done. Bask in the glow of it for a few minutes-then, do it all over again!

Allow yourself a shitty first draft– Progress over perfection, folks.

Break down your day into manageable chunks-no matter HOW small– I literally got to the point where I had to work in 15-minute blocks of time on a singular task to keep myself from getting anxious. I took my biggest project, broke it down into tasks, then broke the tasks into separate appointments and tossed the list. All I saw was my next “appointment” instead of the 15 more tasks on the list-which made me breathe a lot easier.

What about you? What is your biggest time-drain? Are you a “perfect procrastinator”?

Photo credit-DeviantArt

One thought on “Whose Deadline is it, Anyway? #NaBloPoMo Day 13

Leave a Reply

