#NaBloPoMo Day 6: Too Much of a Good Thing

DAY 6// Pumpkin spiced flavored everything: can’t get enough OR enough already!

I haaaaate change.

Mind you as I type this, I am in the middle of one of the most change-heavy years of my life. It doesn’t mean I didn’t kick and scream every step of the way. The introverted intuitive that I am loves her boat as un-rocked as possible. And as such, I am prone to “pumpkin spice syndrome”.

Pumpkin Spice Syndrome: The effort to make what was once good, but now barely mediocre, tolerable by remixing in as many ways as possible instead of letting go and moving on.

Come on. You KNOW pumpkin spice was the best thing to happen to hot drinks when it came out. But what was once a kitschy novel flavor has turned itself into a new tradition-and long overstayed its welcome on my tongue. What was a subtle enhancement is now an overpowering, cloying annoyance…much like many of the things I had to let go of in the last two years.

One of the biggest lessons I had to learn as an adult was how to let go and move on. It’s never easy to release your view of what was, and accept your life as it is. But that is the only way you will be able to be open to what can be. Often times we hold so tight to the past, or to the idea of the way we would like things to go, that we cause ourselves untold stress and miss the beauty of the present. To be inflexible is to be prone to breakage.

So…what is the “pumpkin spice” in your life? What are you holding on to far past its expiration date? What could you release to make room for bigger and better?

** A great article on the importance of letting go by one of my faves, Marc and Angel, can be read HERE!

One thought on “#NaBloPoMo Day 6: Too Much of a Good Thing

Leave a Reply

