Desire and the #30Layers30Days Challenge; The Wrap-up

DAY 30 // START. STOP. CONTINUE.

Have your answers changed since the beginning of the challenge?
START: What do you want to start doing? What do you want more of in your life? What feelings, what activities, what energy? What baby step can you take today?

STOP: What have you had enough of? What are you tolerating or feeding into that is not adding value to your life? What area of your life is begging for more boundaries?

CONTINUE: What habits or trends do you want to continue? What’s been working for you? What can you do to ensure you keep it going?

 

I had no idea what I was getting into.

I jokingly nicknamed myself the “comment savant” a while ago. While I didn’t normally post or have a blog of my own, every so often on the blogs I’d frequent I’d leave a random gem of a comment so profoundly layered that people kept asking me why I don’t turn them into posts. “I’m only good for a genius comment once in a while, this isn’t an everyday occurrence, lol!! was always my response.

When I began this blog, I wanted it to be an outlet for me to learn to trust my hand. It had been a long time since I’d written freely-years-and I didn’t have a whole lot of faith in it. I didn’t know if I would have anything to say. I didn’t know where I wanted it to go. I just knew I’d learned a lot about myself in the year since I’d gotten out of a decade-long consecutive string of relationships and I had to get it out.

I originally did this challenge as a free-writing boot camp of sorts. I’d post the challenges that inspired me to write more than just the answers to the questions and share on my own time. Turns out I had a lot to say, a lot to learn, and even more to let go of.

As I look back and review the posts over the last 30 days, I honestly can’t believe they came out of me. But I am grateful for the chance to open up, and even more grateful for the people that came along with me. This was a great learning exercise. I saw patterns in my thinking that I hadn’t payed attention to before, found new challenges within myself to work on, and most of all let go of a lot of the need to have everything be “perfect”. Sometimes it just is. Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can come together. Sometimes you need to just keep moving. Sometimes you need to be still. It’s been a great month, and I will likely practice with more monthly challenges until the year’s end.

And hey, you…thanks.

Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a Reply

