The Power of Yes; #30Layers30Days Challenge Day 23

DAY 23 // LIMITATIONS & AFFIRMATIONS

Limiting thoughts have a way of popping up when we are trying to rise to our next level.  These thoughts tells us that we can’t do it, it will be too hard, or we’re not enough or we’re too much.  Do you think your personality, appearance or background holds you back? What kinds of limitations do you harbor in your mind?  Counter each limitation with a positive affirmation to reverse it.  

“A No is what you had when you started.”

I have a pretty extensive background in sales. For many years, this was my mantra. Whenever I was afraid to ask for something, afraid to take that chance or worried about rejection I’d always mutter “a ‘no’ is what you had when you started, so you have nothing to lose.” And I’m sure on the surface, it looks like a healthy way to approach life, right?

Maybe. Maybe not.

As I moved on and discovered pageants, a common theme came about as I was being coached, and later as I began coaching. See back then, I had the challenge of competing in a year where back to back Miss USA’s fell onstage during their International competitions. Every girl was nervous about their heels and their walk. I asked my coach, “how do I keep from falling onstage?”

“Well, first off, you’ve got to stop thinking about falling.”

We have a saying in the world of individual competition, “What you think of most becomes your reality; what you practice becomes your habit.” I, nor my girls, were ever allowed to frown or have a straight face when practicing, because when you’re on that stage or on that mat and your body goes into auto-pilot, all it will remember is what you’ve practiced. What you’ve focused on. If all you’ve done is scowl, you won’t remember to smile. If all you’ve focused on is *not* falling, falling is in the forefront of your mind.

So what does that have to do with anything?

I started noticing the same patterns I had in practice in my life. I had given “no” SO much power, it was becoming the most dominant theme. I’d apply for this job not because I thought I was qualified and could do it, but because I “might as well, a no is what I had anyway!” I’d meet someone nice and not expect or ask for anything because “I might as well just enjoy the journey since it’s gonna end eventually!” I had an immense amount of faith in “no”. I stared at every situation as if I had already been rejected and am earning a “yes”. I did not claim anything, hope for an outcome or wish for the best. I just prepared for the worst. A “no” is what you have, what you start with. A “yes” is what you hope or work for.

Now while this may seem to contradict what I worked to remove with my Lent post, hear me out here. My problem wasn’t my over-focusing on the outcome; it was the point where I started. I’d dig a ditch for myself, hop in it, and then exhaust myself climbing out just to get to zero. Getting to the “yes” became important because I was fighting against a “no” that might not even exist. Sound a bit backwards? It sure does to me.

Worse off, I was cancelling out some of the most important steps in bringing positive energy and karma into my life; desire. By expecting a negative outcome first I willed myself out of wanting it and declaring it to the Universe. Not a healthy detachment to the outcome, but an outright lie as to what was important to me and what I wanted. Expecting disappointment so it wouldn’t hurt as much. Life was looking everywhere for me and I was hiding beneath the shelter of my own apathy.

So today, I start with YES. I give power to yes. I bask in the glow of life and claim my desire for it. I start with success. I start with blessings. I start with the joy of the Universe. I give a voice to my desire. I am here.

Are you?

Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a Reply

