The Moments that Make the Difference; #30Layers30Days Challenge Day 26

DAY 26 // THANK YOU

Who do you want to thank for inspiring you?  Not necessarily your biggest fan like Day 13, but what person has had a powerful impact on your life and helped you to change in a positive way?  This could be a person you know or a public figure.  Either way, write a note of thanks to this person.

You don’t know me, but I thank you.

It was your passing conversation, that brief moment in time. It was a stray word, a throwaway blog entry, that last phrase before you said good bye. A breeze in your life but an event in mine. The smallest of gestures that reverberate in my memory. A lasting impression that barely made a dent in your day. The moments that made a difference.

You didn’t know me but I was the last stranger you spoke to. You gave me your family ring because you had no family left. And I kept that ring on my finger until I was brave enough to go back to my own family. And I rejoice, as you are now with yours.

You hadn’t met me but your musings helped me find my voice. And in finding mine, giving voice to others. You are far more impactful than you give yourself credit for. You will know this one day.

We’d just met but your drive sparked a fire. You asked “why not” and I looked at my life and realized I had no excuse. You’ll never remember that conversation, but it became a compass to lead me on the road back to me.

We’d worked together for the briefest of moments, but you lived life loud. You attacked every aspect of life with the same ferociousness and I remain jealous of your unapologetic nature. You made me go back when I gave up with one sentence, and my life was forever changed as a result.

To you I am one face in a sea of events you attended, but that evening you gave me your ear. All of you accomplished, degreed, prominent members of a society I may never live amongst. You listened to me speak on what I was most passionate about. It was my first major speaking event, and you let me fumble, gather myself and eventually applauded my efforts. I learned that day that everyone has something of value, no matter their station. Including me.

The biggest impacts on my life have all come from many small moments. Tears I’ve shared with strangers. Hands I’ve held with people I will never see again. For this I am eternally grateful. For this I thank you.

Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a Reply

