My List; #30Layers30Days Challenge Day 21

DAY 21 // OH HAPPY DAY

Describe your ideal day in the life.  How would you spend your day? What type of work would you do?  What would you eat and who would you be around?  What would you wear and where would you go?  Most importantly, how would you feel?

**This post is inspired by one of my favorite reads, the Harper’s Bazaar “My List“. In my perfect world I am a Marketing Manager with a personal branding consulting work on the side. Also, babies. 🙂

5:45 A.M. Lord knows I have ever been a morning person, but I have learned if I want to be productive I have to find my center. So I begin each day with a short meditation; I focus on what I am grateful for that morning and visualize my day from start to finish. I find those few minutes of quiet help me with the tornado that is my day!

6:00 A.M. Luckily the Mr. and I enjoy completely different workout schedules; I need to break a sweat before my day starts and he needs to sweat off his work day. So I get in at least a half hour of either cardio or bodyweight exercises while he bathes the babies. I’m a pretty simple girl and my style is best described as girly minimalist chic-which basically means my uniform is a sheath or wrap dress and a bun with some bells and whistles if I have time. I have a “face uniform” of eye makeup, a dash of concealer where I need it, liner and gloss. We don’t eat anything hot for breakfast unless I’m in the mood for overnight oatmeal (steel-cut oats in the slow cooker) so we all have fruit and yogurt or some palmables like cheese or whatever granola I threw together over the weekend if we’re running behind. Anything to get out of the house on time.

7:30 A.M. I like to stay productive during my commute as I have never been a fan of crowds, so I jot down my morning pages for the first few minutes and get caught up on the news with the rest. My phone is set to the Daily Beast’s Cheat Sheet, which sums up the day’s notables with just enough time for me to lift my head at my stop. As soon as I set foot in the door it’s a whirlwind of strategy meetings and event confirmations. I used to have a “quiet hour” where I set the most important agendas for the day but found the fires need my attention early, so I cut it down to the first 20 minutes and fire off the most important emails and instructions. I love my coffee first thing but never get to make it at home, so I also get to indulge in my cafe con leche.

2:00 P.M. Try as I might I rarely get to lunch at a human hour, so I graze on hummus and whatever vehicle they have on hand to hold it; either pita chips or carrots. I got the habit from an old friend who would munch on them exclusively throughout the day and only eat dinner-I still think that’s crazy! Usually I get to lunch somewhere in the afternoon and by then all my good intentions have dissolved; I usually have some protein or another with rice (ALWAYS rice!) and a sweet snack with another cup of coffee. I use the break to go over any notes I’d have with my coaching clients or proofread any posts I may have scheduled. Then it’s crunch time! I am militant about getting out at a respectable time so I make the most of the hours left and try not to schedule meetings after 3:00, but I always have my 4:00 pm coffee to get me through to dinner. What can I say, I’m Latina; coffee was in my baby bottle!

7:00 P.M. I love to cook and find it to be a peaceful activity, although my schedule doesn’t allow for me to do it every day. I usually make an extra roast or chicken on Sunday and let it carry us through the days it’s either just too busy to make something or I am on the road. But dinner is hands-down my favorite meal and I will sacrifice the entire day to enjoy it! Pasta, rice, cream sauces, roasted veggies, nothing is off limits if we have the time. I’m the type of person that can get stuck in my grind if I’m not mindful, so I have a once a week standing cocktail hour to catch with my friends.

9:00 P.M. I learned the hard way that prepping for tomorrow is the best way to end the day, so before I do anything else I set out clothes and prep for the morning. After I review notes and send out emails to my coaching clients and take the time to flesh out any posts I may have scheduled for the following week. Then it’s my favorite time of day-TV time! I swore I’d never have a television in my bedroom but catching up on pre-recorded shows has easily become the best part of my day.

12:00 A.M. What is sleep?

 

 

*Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a Reply

