A Love Letter to My Body; #30Layers30Days Challenge Day 14

DAY 14 // MIRROR, MIRROR

Compliment yourself on your least favorite physical feature.  Find the beauty in it and describe it.

Test2

I hope one day you may forgive me.

Wondrous and strong, mighty and majestic me. Born to be a gift, never seeing your beauty. I wasted 2/3rd’s of my life hating you. Examined your perceived flaws in the mirror, offering nothing but criticism to God’s Gift. Taking your resilience for granted. You, with arms that brought comfort to many, legs that took me far and away and back again, feet that never stopped moving forward. I battered you with judgement, I punished you for not being perfect, I cut you to watch you bleed. I compared you to an unattainable standard that changed every year. I sneered at the reflection that was not thin enough, not curvy enough, with legs too meaty and yet so small, hips that would not shrink and an ass that would not get bigger. I let him hurt you to keep him around. I fed you poison to make the pain disappear.

But you are still with me. Proving me wrong. Proving your strength remains. Showing me your beauty daily. Reminding me I can thrive. Bouncing back in spite of. All you needed was some Love. And I Love you. With skin bearing the beauty of a life lived, with hips ready for life anew, with arms strong enough to carry my bags and toss them over the cliff. We are one. We are free. We are beautiful.

And I love You.

Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a comment