The Mask; #30Layers30Days Challenge Day 5

DAY 5 // REPRESENTATIVE

Your representative is a mask you wear or a front you put on to keep up an image that is not authentically you. How is your representative (past or present) different than the real you? Why did you (or do you) feel that she was necessary?

As both an INFJ and HSP, I see the world in 5D.

I have a really bad habit of randomly blurting out an observation about a person that cuts through their representative, leaves them on the floor, and makes them avoid me for a bit. So, as you might suspect, my representative is ironclad.

I’ve gotten so adept at it I even have different representatives for different occasions: the happy-go-lucky corporate worker that avoids pesky race questions and deflects sexual harassment with a Holly Golightly hair flip; the cool-as-a-cucumber girlfriend who never nags and is always “ok”; the happy friend, the smart writer. I give people what they can handle within their comfort zone because I’m really good at figuring out where their limits reside.

Will this change? For the most part, no. I absorb and feel the discomfort of others. For superficial interactions, it’s just easier. Friends and lovers, though? You’re stuck with all of it. It’s ok. I don’t bite.

Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

Leave a Reply

