Desire, and the #30Layers30Days Challenge

DAY 1 // STOP, START, CONTINUE

START:  What do you want to start doing?  What do you want more of in your life?  What feelings, what activities, what energy?   What baby step can you take today?
STOP:  What have you had enough of?  What are you tolerating or feeding into that is not adding value to your life?  What area of your life is begging for more boundaries?
CONTINUE:  What habits or trends do you want to continue?  What’s been working for you? What can you do to ensure you keep it going?

If you’ve followed me from Black, Latina & Fabulous to here, you know I love a good soul-stretching, bravery testing introspective challenge. So of course I jumped at the chance to dig deep with GG Rene’s #30Layers30Days challenge! You can find out more at the bottom of this post, or simply follow the hashtag on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Now, while it is a writing challenge that does not specifically require you to publicly post, I will be sharing some of the more personally inspiring daily questions here.

SO…WHY AM I DOING THIS?

Since the Lent post, aspects of my life have sprung forward. I walk in gratitude, in the present, and appreciate each forward step. This is one thing I would like to continue as I move forward into the last quarter of the year. So what is left?

Well, since I began seriously writing I have had a policy to not blog in real time. I post the lessons, not the details. while that’s all fine and good….I’m not great at revealing goals, wants and desires, or things I’m working on. Now, that would be fine if I was taking a David Bowie or Beyonce album approach, where I was far too busy living my goal to talk about it..but the real truth is, I’m not. I don’t speak on anything because I view anything good in my grasp as sand; the moment I open up on it, it slips thru my fingers. I’m not talking how some will jump the gun and refer to a plan, or a project or relationship that just started as if it were finished and fully theirs. I mean…if I speak on it at all it may as well be set on fire, because it will be ash soon. So I don’t own it. I act like it doesn’t matter. I don’t dig in. I practice detachment because I refuse to want something I don’t believe is mine, anyway. I operate from a point of loss. And I’m tired of it. So I’m writing through it. And hopefully, you will come along for the ride.

 

*Conceived by GG Rene of AllTheManyLayers.com, the #30Layers30Days Challenge dares writers to dig deep with thoughtful daily inspirations meant to promote introspective thought and mindful journal practice. I will be posting my more inspired entries from the daily challenges. You can follow the #30Layers30Days hashtag on Twitter and Instagram, or follow GG Rene at @ggrenewrites.

One thought on “Desire, and the #30Layers30Days Challenge

Leave a Reply

